You Are Here: Home » News » Welcome Palestine – How the World Voted on Palestine

Welcome Palestine – How the World Voted on Palestine

How the world voted on Palestine
Yes 138       No 9      Abstain 41

The countries which voted YES
(no list available yet, but see map above to get an idea of the countries that did)

The countries which voted NO are:

Israel, United States, Canada, Czech Republic,
Panama, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru and Palau

The countries which abstained are:

Albania, Andorra, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia & Herzegovina,
Bulgaria, Cameroon, Colombia, Congo (DRC), Croatia, Estonia, Fiji, Germany,
Guatemala, Haiti, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Malawi, Monaco,
Mongolia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Poland,
Moldova, Romania, Rwanda, Samoa, San Marino, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia,
South Korea, Togo, Tonga, the United Kingdom and Vanuatu.

Five countries failed to vote.
(no list yet available)

According to the highly respectable Democracy Index run by the Economist
Intelligence Unit (EIU), only 25 countries are full democracies.  So, of
those democracies, 17 voted for, 3 voted against  and 5 abstained.  If we
take flawed democracies into account, 48 countries voted for, 5 voted
against and 24 abstained.
(With thanks to Sol Salbe for referring us to the Index)

Legal | Contact | © 2012

Scroll to top